MICHIGAN MUSEUMS ASSOCIATION (MMA) Annual Business Meeting, Dearborn

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Call to Order: 12:37 p.m., MMA President E. Fijol

Approval of 2017 Annual Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve 2017 minutes: Angela Riedel, Gavin Swantick 2nd Action: Approved

REPORTS

President - E. Fijol

- Comments on 2017 to present.
- Three members left MMA Board of Directors. New Board members recruited.
- Report on implementation of structural changes announced in 2017.
- Report on strategic planning during 2018.

Treasurer - L. Plank

- Overview of MMA financial resources and responsibilities.
- MMA ended 2017 in the black financially. 2018 proceeding well.
- Review of MMA Fiscal Year Balance Sheet
 Motion to approve Treasurer's report: Warren Lehmkuhle, Caitlyn Perry Dial 2nd

Action: Approved

Executive Director- L.C. Brisson

- Status update of 2018.
- Overview of 2017 and 2018 projects, programs, and changes.
- Review of 2017 Lansing Conference, Meat and Eats, Workshops, and Advocacy day.
- Staff change: Membership and Communications Coordinator increased from 1/4 time to 1/2 time
- MMA switched accounting firm
 - Membership and Communications Coordinator C. Johnston
 - Report on membership numbers, growth, communications outlets, attempts to create museum census

2018-2023 STRATEGIC PLAN - L.C. Brisson

- Overview of strategic planning process
- New Mission and Vision statements
- Description of major strategic initiatives and goals

ELECTIONS - N. Kemler

- Description of criteria of Board member recruitment.
- Presentation of slate of new nominated Board members:
 - Caitlyn Perry Dial, Michigan Women Forward #HerStory Michelle McClellan, Ella Sharp Museum Dominick Miller, Mackinac State Historic Parks Ann Rock, NonProfit Development Services Ken Yarsevich, Michigan Economic Development Council/Travel MI

Motion to approve slate of nominees to a two-year term: Henry Matthews, Lynne Friman 2nd Action: Approved

• Board of Directors renewals:

Loraine Campbell, Troy Historic Village/Historical Society Sanam Arab, University of Michigan-LSA Jason Dake, Dennos Museum Center Lisa Plank, Lowell Area Historical Museum Nathan Kemler, Grand Valley State University

Motion to approve Board renewals to a two-year term: Angela Riedel, Julie Cook 2nd Action: Approved

RECOGNITION - E. Fijol

Sarah Waters recognized as past Board member

ANNOUNCEMENTS

L.C. Brisson announced Grand Rapids as 2019 conference site, October 2-5. Joint conference with Association of Midwest Museums.

Motion to adjourn: Caitlyn Perry Dial, Mallory Bower 2nd

Business meeting adjourned: 1:12 p.m.