Past Award Recipients 

The Michigan Museums Association is pleased to recognize excellence and service in the Michigan museum community. 

Two Peninsulas Prize recipients are selected annually by the MMA Board of Directors after a public nomination process. One award is presented to an individual for leadership. A second award is presented to a museum for a diversity, equity, access, or inclusion project. 

Colleague Champion awards are presented to individuals who have been nominated by a colleague for their efforts on a project or team, or for their service to their museum or community. 

Winners are listed by year awarded. Click the year to see the press release and recipient photos.

Katie Trzaska-Miller - Peninsulas Prize: Leadership 
George Moroz - President's Award
Holland Museum - Peninsulas Prize: DEAI
Colleague Champion - 21 awarded, full list at link.

Phil Porter - Peninsulas Prize: Leadership 
Mark Heppner - President's Award
Saugatuck-Douglas History Center - Peninsulas Prize: DEAI
Colleague Champion - 17 awarded, full list at link.

The 2020 awards were presented to 57 individuals for good works throughout 2020. Please click on link above to learn more about the recipients. 


  • Louise Stewart Beck - MMA Volunteer of the Year
  • Dr. Bradley Taylor - President's Award
  • Michigan State University Museum - Peninsula's Prize
  • Holocaust Memorial Center Zekelman Family Campus - Outreach Award
  • Grand Rapids Children's Museum - Outreach Award Honorable Mention


  • Julie Cook - MMA Volunteer of the Year
  • President's Award - John Bracey
  • Daniel Truckey - Peninsulas Prize
  • Birmingham Museum - Outreach Award


  • Melanie Parker - MMA Volunteer of the Year
  • Sandra Sageser Clark - President's Award
  • Detroit 67 Collaboration - Peninsulas Prize (Detroit Historical Society, Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, Detroit Institute of Arts)


  • Bettina Cousineau - MMA Volunteer of the Year
  • Juanita Moore - President's Award
  • Sloan*Longway - Peninsulas Prize
  • Sanam Arab - MMA Volunteer of the Year
  • Marilyn Merdzinski - President's Award
  • Nancy Bryk - Peninsulas Prize
  • David Pilgrim - Peninsulas Prize
  • Fannie Hoeksema - Unsung Hero
  • President's Award - Gene Jenneman
  • Peninsulas Prize - Graham Beal
  • Birmingham Historical Museum and Park - Best New Experience
  • Tom Howes - Unsung Hero
  • Steve Arseneau - President's Award
  • The BEL - Best New Experience
  • Grand Valley State University Art Gallery - Best New Publication (Budget less than $500,000)
  • Kalamazoo Valley Museum - Best New Publication (Budget greater than $500,000)
  • Collections Objects and Hands-on Exhibits/Interactions - Most Thought Provoking Conference Session
  • Lew Crusoe - MMA Volunteer of the Year
  • Gregory Witkopp - President's Award 
  • Muskegon Museum of Art - Peninsulas Prize
  • Bill Falkenberg - MMA Volunteer of the Year
  • Ray Silverman - President's Award/Peninsulas Prize
  • Devos Art Museum at NMU and Marquette Regional History Center - Most Awesome Experience


Publication Awards

  • Saugatuck-Douglas Historical Society
  • Cranbrook Art Museum
  • The Henry Ford
  • Mackinac State Historic Parks

The Michigan Museums Association is supported in part by an award from the Michigan Arts and Culture Council

Thank you to our Partners!

Michigan Museums Association       313-334-7643       PO Box 5246, Cheboygan, MI 49721

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software